408 Voters, 57% of of Electorate, Cast Ballots in Primary

In what Hinsdale County Clerk Joan Roberts terms a “generally smooth election,” 57 percent of the county’s registered active voters returned their mail-in ballots for the Tuesday, June 26, Primary Election.
A preponderance of Republican ballots — 346 total — were returned in the election, while 62 Democratic ballots were tabulated in the Primary.The total election tally of 408 voters who returned ballots includes county voters who are registered as Independents and were allowed to request either a GOP or Democratic ballot for this year’s election.
Among active voters who returned ballots in the last general election, 417 are registered as Republicans, 96 as Democrats, 188 Unaffiliated, one American Constitution, and nine Libertarian, for a total of 711.
The local candidate garnering the highest number of votes in Tuesday’s Primary was Hinsdale County Clerk & Recorder Joan Roberts who received a total of 271 votes on the Republican ballot in her uncontested bid for re-election.
The election battle drawing the greatest local interest on Tuesday was between GOP rivals Kristie Borchers and David Guilliams (see article, page 1) in their quest to replace retiring Cindy Dozier as Hinsdale County District 2 Commissioner.
In the District 2 Commissioner contest, a total of 337 GOP ballots were cast, apportioned 181 for Borchers and 156 for Guilliams.
A host of other Hinsdale County Republicans were running unopposed for a variety of other county offices, including Hinsdale County Undersheriff Justin Casey who received 243 votes in the Primary to replace Sheriff Ron Bruce when his term ends at year’s end.
Also running unopposed in the Primary, and who will now likely run unopposed in the November General Election, were Hinsdale County Assessor Luke de la Parra, in his first run for office after being appointed, 250 votes, and Hinsdale County Treasurer Lori Lawrence, 256 votes.
Both de la Parra and Lawrence, together with Roberts and Casey, are registered Hinsdale County Republicans.
Following is the Hinsdale County tally in the Primary in state-wide elections: Representative 116th U.S. Congress – Scott Tipton (R) 207, Diane Mitsch-Bush (D) 41, Karl Hanlon (D) 12, Arn Menconi (D) 0; Colorado Governor – Walter Stapleton (R) 134, Greg Lopez (R) 41, Doug Robinson (R) 21, Victor Mitchell (R) 60, Cary Kennedy (D) 10, Jared Polis (D) 22, Donna Lynne (D) 4, Mike Johnston (D) 25.
Secretary of State – Wayne Williams (R) 173, Jena Griswold (D) 44; State Treasurer – Justin Everett (R) 80, Polly Lawrence (R) 59, Brian Watson (R) 71, Dave Young (D) 35, Bernard Douthit (D) 13; Attorney General – George Brauchler (R) 159, Phil Weiser (D) 30, Joe Salazar (D) 29; Regent University of Colorado, 3rd District – Glen Gallegos (R) 149, Alvin Rivera (D) 40; Regent University of Colorado, at-large – Ken Montera (R) 148, Leslie Smith (D) 42.
State Senator District 5 – Olen Lund (R) 163, Kerry Donovan (D) 48; State Representative District 59 – Barbara McLachlan (D) 50.